back to top
Homepage / Special Features  / Editor's Journal  / Editor’s Letter – March 2020

Editor’s Letter – March 2020

By John Roark

The October 1990 issue of Phoenix Home & Garden featured the first Masters of the Southwest award winners. Pictured on the cover is the late artist and architectural designer William Tull.

Thirty years ago, the inaugural Masters of the Southwest award winners were announced in our October 1990 issue. Our first group of 30 inductees included architects, interior designers, landscape architects, chefs, artists and artisans. Today, a number of these individuals, including Vincent Guerithault, Nancy Kitchell, Steve Martino, David Michael Miller and Craig Pearson, are still major forces in the Valley and beyond, legendary in their respective disciplines.

We are frequently asked what it takes to merit this award. Each year, we carefully consider professionals who have made an indelible mark on their craft or profession, their longevity in the Southwest and the singularity of their body of work. Those who are selected join a long list of creative leaders who are recognized as the best
in Arizona.

Three decades in, the Masters of the Southwest title carries prestige and is a source of pride for 279 luminaries. This issue is dedicated to the eight new names we inscribe on our distinguished list. We encourage you to get to know them on these pages and invite you to join us in celebrating their achievements at our 2020 awards ceremony on Monday, Feb. 17, at Desert Botanical Garden. For information on purchasing tickets, visit

John Roark
Editor in Chief


Sign up for the Phoenix Home & Garden Newsletter

Stay up to date with everything Phoenix Home & Garden!

Our newsletter subscribers will have early access to things like:

  • Upcoming Events & Pre-Sales
  • Special Promotions
  • Exclusive Giveaways!